Beautiful Debut Cleopatra and Frankenstein Book

Beautiful Debut Cleopatra and Frankenstein Book post thumbnail image

So far, 2022 has not been a good year to read. Drowning in the ongoing Visa dramas and the uncertainty of living in a country where I don’t have a permanent residence have had a – it’s safe to say – very strong impact on my propensity for books. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve started a new Novel just to read a chapter or two before giving up and letting the book gather dust on one of the many stacks of books piling up in my apartment.

And now that my boyfriend has moved in with me, the long and lazy evenings curled up on my couch with a book have been replaced by night after night, night after night glued to Breaking Bad (I know I’m fifteen years after, but here we are). Fortunately, as is often the matter in my reading life, a book found me exactly when I needed it. Plastered all over Instagram and recommended by my dear friend Caitie, Cleopatra and Frankenstein by Coco Mellors were a welcome relief and a perfect cure for a seemingly infinite and God-defying tone of reading.

Cleopatra and Frankenstein Book Review

A charming debut of Mellors, Cleopatra and Frankenstein is a beautifully written story, atmospheric and rich in nuances, offering readers a wonderful dose of escapism. It is a story that begins gently with a classic experience: two strangers meet in an elevator while they are both trying to escape from a party at the dawn of the New year. Cleo-an ethereal but difficult artist from England, is in her early twenties, while Frank, a successful media mogul, is in his forties.

The promise is in the air as they ring in the New Year, and a stormy romance quickly turns into a marriage, which means that Cleo’s expiring student visa and the borrowed time she lives in New York are quickly resolved.

What follows is an exploration of love and life in a dark and glamorous New York setting as we meet an increasing number of characters, each playing a role in the complexity of Cleo and Frank’s relationship.

Cleopatra and Frankenstein offers an intelligent view of the mess and disorder of modern relationships; and Mellor does a great job painting a fragmented world of choice and Chaos and the search for true happiness. As a love letter to New York, to the Chaos of finding your way, to the intricacies of declining relationships and to what it means to be human, Cleopatra and Frankenstein will undoubtedly cultivate a legion of loyal Fans who are waiting for Mellor’s next step.

Summary of Cleopatra and Frankenstein

For readers of Modern Lovers and Conversations with Friends, Cleopatra and Frankenstein is an addictive, humorous and poignant first novel about the surprise waves caused by the impulsive marriage of a couple.

 

 

New York escapes from Cleo. Of course, she’s at another party every other night, but she hardly knows anyone. Her student visa is expiring and she doesn’t even have money for cigarettes. But then she meets Frank. Twenty years older, Frank”s life is full of all the success and excess that Cleo lacks. He offers her the Chance to be happy, the freedom to paint and the possibility of applying for a green card. She offers him a life of beauty and art — and, hopefully, a reason to limit his alcohol consumption. He is everything she needs right now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post